Art & Entertainment, FEATURE STORY, Post may contain affiliate links. Read disclosure policy here.

Ava DuVernay Announces Sade Has Created an Original Song for A Wrinkle in Time

The Soundtrack for A Wrinkle in Time Set to Release on March 9th!

Are you excited for the new movie A Wrinkle in Time?! My kids and I are reading the novel right now and we can’t wait to go see the movie when it comes out.

Last week, I was looking through my Twitter timeline and I saw where Ava DuVernay, director of A Wrinkle in Time, announced the beautiful Sade has recorded an original song for the movie’s soundtrack!

Sade, you guys! YES!! I already know the music is going to be amazing. I can’t wait to hear Sade sing again! It has been too long since she released a new album. Thank you, Ava, for asking Sade to create an original song for A Wrinkle in Time! This makes me want to see the movie even more!


Ava DuVernay’s tweet announcing Sade created an original song for A Wrinkle in Time!


Sade created two versions of the original song “Flower of the Universe”.

The song is called “Flower of the Universe” and Sade performed two versions of it. One of the songs is a remix by No. I.D. This is Sade’s second original song contribution to a soundtrack since 1986. Sade also co-wrote and co-produced the track with Ben Travers and Andrew Hale.

“Flower of the Universe” is the first original song she contributed to a soundtrack was the song “Killer Blow” and it is featured on the Absolute Beginners soundtrack.

When I read Ava’s tweet about Sade performing a song for the movie’s soundtrack, I squealed with delight because I absolutely LOVE Sade! She has such a beautiful, soulful voice and her music is timeless. I will never tire of listening to Sade’s music.

Sade is a multi-Grammy winning and multi-platinum selling artist. My favorite albums of hers are Love Deluxe (1992), Lovers Rock (2000), and Soldier Lover (2010).


No I.D. posted this photo on Instagram saying he’s “proud to produce this one”.


Other Artists Featured on the A Wrinkle in Time Soundtrack


Other artists who contributed to the soundtrack are DJ Khaled, Demi Lovato, Sia, and Kehlani. Here is the track list for A Wrinkle in Time:

1. “Flower of the Universe (No I.D. Remix)” Performed by Sade
2. “I Believe” Performed by DJ Khaled Featuring Demi Lovato
3. “Magic” Performed by Sia
4. “Let Me Live” Performed by Kehlani
5. “Warrior” Performed by Chloe x Halle
6. “Park Bench People” Performed by Freestyle Fellowship
7. “Flower of the Universe” Performed by Sade
Score by Ramin Djawadi
8. “A Wrinkle in Time”
9. “Mrs. Whatsit, Mrs. Who and Mrs. Which”
10. “Darkness Across the Universe”
11. “Touch the Stars”
12. “Happy Medium”
13. “Camazotz”
14. “Home”
15. “Uriel”
16. “Is This a Dream?”
17. “Forgive Me”
18. “Be a Warrior”
19. “Tap Into Your Mind”
20. “Tesseract”
21. “Sorry I’m Late”
22. “The Universe Is Within All of Us”


Ava on the artists and composer for the A Wrinkle in Time soundtrack:

“Each song on the ‘Wrinkle in Time’ soundtrack was crafted with great care in close collaboration with the artists. My creative partnership with Sade on ‘Flower of the Universe’ was so connected that I reverse engineered the usual process and used her lyrics as actual dialogue within the film. I truly loved working with DJ Khaled who jumped into this project with open arms and an open heart, along with the great Demi Lovato. Sia, Kehlani and Chloe x Halle beautifully embraced the visuals of the film to create distinct songs that expand and elevate Meg’s heroic journey. And working with Ramin Djawadi was a dream come true as I have been a long-time admirer of his stellar work. His musical compositions for the film are perfectly otherworldly.”


The A Wrinkle in Time original motion picture soundtrack will be available at digital retail here and streaming services here on March 9. The physical version will be available following the film’s release on March 30. You can pre-order your copy of the soundtrack HERE.


A Wrinkle in Time Soundtrack
Pre-order your copy of the A Wrinkle in Time Soundtrack!


For more information on Walt Disney Records’ releases become a fan at or follow them on Twitter at and Instagram at





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *